[Cosrx] Oil-Free Ultra-Moisturizing Lotion (with Birch Sap)

One of my favorite skincare brands. From the packaging, to their philosophy, Mr. RX, and of course the products itself. The Oil-Free Ultra-Moisturizing Lotion (w. Birch Sap) serves as a light moisturizer, suitable for all skin types, but I swear! Oily-Dehydrated and Oily Skin must try! 01.jpg

(Picture from Cosrx.kr)

How/When I use it:
– Part of my morning routine 
– (about 3-3.5pumps) Applied after toner, essence, before my sunscreen.
– Replaces the “cream’ step in morning skincare routine 
Product Information:
Brand: [Cosrx]
Product Name: Oil-Free Ultra-Moisturizing Lotion (with Birch Sap)
Size/Volume: 3.4oz or 100mL
Price: $15.97 USD @ StyleKorean.com (not affiliated)
Targeted Skin Type: For all skin types
Claims: to be a lightweight oil-free moisturizer, that hydrates and soothes irritated skin
Longevity: best used within one year of opening. 3-4 pumps daily, once a day will last around 5-6 months (based on my experience)
Scent: [3.5/10 scent strength] There is a slight tea tree scent in addition to some other scent I cannot describe…maybe lemon grassy? I like the scent, it reminds me of the Coca-Cola gummy bottles upon application. 
Consistency: Lightweight, silky. 
Moisturizing Level: 9/10 
Ingredients (listed from Cosrx.kr): 
Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 11.02.21 PM.png
aha! Lemon peel OIL, Tea Tree OIL. not entirely oily-free! 
In. Breakdown/Highlights
– Lemon Oil Peel> aim to moisturize the skin, acts as a skin conditioner with anti-
bacterial and brightening properties from its natural citric acids. 
– Tea Tree Oil> aim to soothe irritated skin, has antioxidant properties 
-Betula Platphylla Japonica Juice> aim to moisturize and calm the skin. 70% of the
product is composed of this birch sap, which has moisturizing and soothing properties. I think it contributes to the scent and silky-ness of the texture as well, not entirely sure. 
(these ingredients stood out to me, and therefore is included in the breakdown. For more information visit CosDNA)
My thoughts:
I LOVE THIS. I have oily- sometimes dehydrated skin. With this lotion, I’m able to moisturize without feeling the heavy-stickiness of a cream. Application is fast, and easy. Glides on nicely. Perfect for my morning routine. The lotion keeps my skin moisturized through out the day, and I don’t get as oily during the afternoon/evening. I find the scent pleasant, and not too over powering. It smells more organic and natural- which I like. Works well under all of the sunscreens I’ve used thus far. (Here comes the little complaint.) While I do love this moisturizer, I find it takes a little longer to absorb compared to other lightweight moisturizers I’ve used. It is not tacky during the absorption process, but you can definitely feel the layer of moisturizer. Lasts maybe 2-3 minutes? No biggie when you have time, but in a rush and you have to slap sunscreen on (without being absorbed), it feels a little thick for a couple minutes before it goes away. 
Overall, I give this lotion a 10/10. I don’t mind there being a little bit of oil, after all it’s towards the end of the list. 
((What product breakdown/review would you like to see next?))

Leave a Reply

