[Benton] Snail Bee High Content Essence

This was my first introduction to [Benton]. I saw good reviews for the Snail Bee High Content Essence, so I gave it a try. Plus, I love the minimal-sophisticated packaging.

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 1.40.09 AM.png

(Picture from BentonCosmetic.com)

How/When I use it:
– Part of my morning & night routine
– (2-3 pumps) applied after cleansing and toning the skin
– “tap tap tap” into the skin
Product Information:
Brand: [Benton]
Product Name: Snail Bee High Content Essence
Size/Volume: 2.02 oz or 60mL
Price: $20.00 USD @ StyleKorean (not affiliated)
Targeted Skin Type: All skin types including sensitive and irritated skin
Claims: multi-functional essence> hydrates, soothes, brightens, and smooths skin
texture.
Longevity: Expires in 2 years from mfd. Best used within 6 months of opening.
(2-3 pumps) 2x a day lasted me close to 3.5 months
Scent: [0/10 scent strength] no scent to this essence at all! LOVE.
Consistency: gel-like. turns water-y almost immediately after application, making it easy to absorb.
Ingredients:

Snail Secretion Filtrate,  Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice,  Glycerin,  Arbutin, Butylene Glycol,  sh-Oligopeptide-1, Bee Venom,Plantago Asiatica Extract, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Diospyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Ulmus Campestris (Elm) Extract, Bacillus Ferment, Azelaic Acid, Althaea Rosea Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract,Beta-Glucan,  Betaine, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Cross polymer, Adenosine, Panthenol, Allantoin, Pentylene Glycol,Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Arginine

In. Breakdown/Highlights:
– Snail Secretion Filtrate> aim to brighten and repair the skin. This ingredient acts to even out skin texture as will as skin tone. With consistent use, will fade hyper pigmentation and reduce redness.
– Bee Venom> aim to soothe, protect the skin. Bee venom has anti-aging, anti-bacterial properties.
– Arbutin> aim to lighten the skin. Found in a lot of skin whitening products, proved to be safe.
– Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract> aim to soothe the skin. also known as willow bark extract. has hair/skin conditioning properties.
(these ingredients stood out to me, and therefore is included in the breakdown. For more information visit CosDNA)
My thoughts:
I have mixed feelings about this essence. First of all, it could be easily mistaken as an (extremely) light weight moisturizer. Which is great for oily/combination skin, especially during the hotter months. It has brightening, soothing, and moisturizing properties all in one. What more could I ask for?? The problem is, this whole time I kept thinking how similar it is to soothing aloe gels. Which leads me to the second point. If it feels like aloe, bring the same effects as aloe, why this and pay close to triple the price for such a small thing? (in comparison to Nature Republic’s Soothing & Moisture aloe vera 92%) Well, I like that there are no stinging/burning sensations upon application when my skin is extremely sensitive and irritated, scentless is always a plus, reduces redness, and that it does not leave a film on the skin even after layering (2-3x). But simply put, I saw minimal results for long term brightening/evening skin tone without the conjunction of a stronger essence or serum. It wasn’t until I incorporated vitamin C back into my routine, that I saw a boost in complexion that was consistent even after skipping a day or two of application.
Overall, I give this essence a 6.5/10. I really appreciate the scentless component, and that there are 0 fillers in this product (which would justify the price). I would consider this to be a great gateway into essences and snail products. But for longtime skinatics, I think there are cheaper alternatives to this essence that works just as effectively or even better.
((What product breakdown/review would you like to see next?))

 

 

Leave a Reply

